Differential Pair routing

Hi , I am new to design differential pair routing for ethernet. I am designing 100Mbps speed of ethernet connection.
I have a doubt

1. My controller is TQFP package means how to calculate track width, trace width and trace gap for differential pair?
  2. If i want to match the characteristics impedance means whether it depends on trace width/track width/trace gap?

The package barely plays into it,

To properly answer your question, the key things are:
2 layer or 4 layer?
Board Thickness?
Copper Plating Thickness? E.g. normal 1oz, or something different.
If its 4 layer, what is the plane to outer layer spacing?

And the key one to know if you even have to worry about it. How long is the distance between the controller and what it connects to, as if your beneath 75mm in length for a maximum frequency of 100MHz, its not really in the frequency range where impedance matters, And it will probably end up at 0.25mm trace, 0.2mm gap,

1 Like

Hi
Thanks for your reply,
In my controller data sheet, they had mentioned that for 4 layer board Width is 12 mil (0.3048 mm) and gap is 24mil (0.6096mm) and also they mentioned not less than 2 inch(50.8mm) track length. but when i routing the differential pair, controller pad cannot able to accept the size, i am using arm based controller. For your kind information controller has 120Mhz normal frequency

So your board is 4 layers or 2?
What is the thickness of the PCB?
If 4 layers what is the gap between the inner and signal layer?

Still lets use what you have to estimate what assumtions they are working on.
So for 0.3mm trace, 0.6mm gap, and assuming a 0.18mm gap between signal layer and inner layer, you end up with 89.7 Ohms Differential, and 45.7 Ohms single ended. so looks a lot like USB requirements.

However my calculator says this is a poorly coupled differential pair due to the large spacing vs gap to ground plane.