Differential pair routing length/skew adjustment question

Hello,

I’m a beginner in KiCad and I’m trying to route 3 differential pairs from a connector on the bottom of the PCB to a connector on top of the PCB. For me it seems like, the Length/Skew function is somewhat broken or i have a understanding problem. I’m using version 5.99 currently.

1. If i want to adjust the skew of a differential pair and match the two traces I get the following result. Trace D2+ is shown with a length of 36,3019mm. Trace D2- with 34,9782mm. I’d think that the length difference is about 1,3mm. But the skew tool tells me, the shorter Track is about 5,5mm too short. If i add the meanders as kicad recommends, the resulting D2- track is then shown with a length of 40,5288mm. I’m not sure where these 5,5mm come from. I created a screenshot to visualize this:
  2. I have the same effect for length tuning. If I want to adjust the length of another differential pair to match the 36,3mm of my longest track, I set the target length to 36,6mm. Then i add the meanders and the resulting track length is then 46,7mm. I added another screenshot to show my result: Screenshot2 (Sorry, for imgur, I’m only allowed to add one picture as new user)

Am I missing something or using this tool wrong? Or is it maybe a bug in the nightly build of kicad I am using?

Thank you

Christian

You can try to find out if there are any relevant open bugs: https://gitlab.com/kicad/code/kicad/-/issues?scope=all&utf8=✓&state=opened&label_name[]=router (differential pairs and length tuning are part of the router).

Ok, thank you. I’ll have a look! This might be my issue, will check. https://gitlab.com/kicad/code/kicad/-/issues/7809

1 Like

Yes, I think there is a bug. If you have overlapping tracks, the skew adjustment is calculating the wrong length.