Did I create this complex LED footprint correctly?

I’m working on a project using Samsung LED’s and their Datasheet has a recommended footprint that I was trying to replicate since there are no built in footprints for 5630 or 5730 LED’s. It looks decent in the footprint viewer but then looks a little odd when adding in PCB editor. I’m fairly new to all this so just want to make sure I did a good job.

LED_5630 Footprint File

Samsung LM561B Plus Datasheet

How does it look at the Gerber level? That’s the true test.

It looks fine except for a couple little things. The lines your are seeing show netpad clearances. Your version of KiCad doesn’t handle clearances of combination pads gracefully. It’s not the end of the world, but if it bugs you, you can try a nightly build. Now they have rounded corners for the offset.

I don’t think you need to use a Nightly Build to have KiCAD recognize overlapping pads as a single, large, pad. Try adjusting the dimensions and locations of your pads to get more overlap, and see if those white “air wires” go away. (Or, add yet another pad to the assembly of pads. Specify it so that it has generous overlap with the other pads, and thus serves only to “tie them together” into a complex pad shape.)

Dale

This did not work but I did what hermit suggested and generated the gerber files and it looked great. I’m not going to worry about it for now, hopefully it’ll be fixed in future versions.

You wouldn’t see anything on Gerber files unless you have a copper zone or a track next to the pad. You don’t really need Gerbers for that either. Just put your footprint in the middle of a copper zone, re-flow it and see if it bothers you enough to tinker with it any further

Really? If you you overlap several pads KiCad will treat it as a single pad? Since when?

Since I picked up KiCAD and started using it, over 2 years ago. Look at
Pad Holes Under SMT for Heatsinking . . .