Designators with no number

When annotating the schematic in Eeschema all designators are given a number.
If you have a part which you want to designate something like ‘PortC’ then KiCad renames it to ‘PortC1’. If you rename it back to ‘PortC’ then the ‘Electrical Rules Checker’ in Eeschema fails with error:

Item not annotated: PortC?

Annotation required!

Is there any way to get around this?

I take it that the ‘Reference’ fields in your world are the ‘designators’?

Afaik (I’m just an amateur) those references are following a standard that more or less is the same the world over.

What you want to do is not formally taken care of in code afaik.
To transfer the kind of information between schematic and layout you are establishing I use labels (track, global and hierarchical sheet labels, plus text fields) and in the layout either text in copper or silkscreen.
In the schematic the text fields + labels help to explain what it is and on the layout (if needed) the text placed manually guides the user what is what.

Example:

Let’s ask the other way around - what do you want to do?

Hi Joan,
Thanks for the response!
Yeah, your approach seems reasonable. I’d like the silkscreen reference to be readable and not contain extra info. See in the image below, USB1 to describe the part should really just be USB.

I think for now I’ll just set the ‘USB1’ reference field as invisible and add Text on the footprint layer with the name I’d like. (image below)

It’s a little messy because obviously, if I move the part, the text field won’t be dragged around with it. I guess if I leave this to be one of the final steps in the layout process it reduces the chance that I’ll need to move a part.
Alternatively, I could rename the reference field in Pcbnew but that seems a little dodgy to me. I assume that if I modified the netlist in Eeschema, say I added a trace to a pin, then it would no longer import correctly when I loaded the netlist in Pcbnew.