Crowdfund Clearance Matrix (Contracting KiPro to implement it)

Dear KiCad Community,

Prolog
I’ve been using KiCad now since 2007 (I guess) while starting with electronics. During the last decade working in electrical engineering I profited a lot from KiCAD, using it for professional projects and my PhD studies. I want to give back to KiCAD and improve its power at the same time.

Problem statement
I specialized in my PhD in Power Electronics, requiring a complex clearance tool. This is currently not implemented. Therefore, industry uses here Eagle or Altium for power converter design. In my personal point of view, that’s the only point stopping KiCAD from beeing “that PCB software”.

According to the KiCad roadmap (and Seth) the DRC will be generalized. A clearance matrix has been requested far often, also one time by myself 3 years ago. To give you an overview over the request, here comes a list to the first three items i found (list is incomplete, and there are far more requests):

The idea
I talked to KiPro Team, and they would be willing to develop this feature. Their offer would be 10 kUSD to 15 kUSD which sounds like a fair offer to me, as it’s a big feature. Seth promises fixed delivery times. Beeing a just finished PhD I have limited resources. I could give 1 kUSD. But as also a lot of other people requested this feature, my idea was to team up and crowdfund this together. Maybe some guys of you have made a fortune using KiCad and are looking for a good way to give back to KiCAD.

Discussion

• What do you think of this idea?
  • Would you give to a crowdfunding campaign?
  • Has somebody every organized a crowdfunding camping?
  • I would like if a charity organisation could do the management, so the givers can put it to the tax.

Trivia

• Trolls, please keep out. This is a too serious topic.
  • Please bare in mind, I’m not a native English speaker

Michael

9 Likes

Thats my same situation. Power electronics struggling with lack of clearance matrix.