Creating and importing footprints

Is there an EASY way to import a footprint created in an external 3D modeling program?
Just a thought.
I’m new to KiCAD and learning a new UI is always a bit of a stumble.
I am all to familiar and quick with Inventor and could easily create a thin flat solid the size of the component outline and extrude pads and drill holes a lot quicker than fumbling to create the footprint in KiCAD. The lack of an easy to use mathematical coordinate system and the inverted Y axis make is clunky for someone who uses a 3D CAD package frequently.
If there isn’t, then I’ll quit whining and continue on, I was just curious if something already existed.

On second thought maybe I need to either:
A - quit thinking about all of this while I’m sitting at work and can’t access my laptop with KiCAD, or
B - read through the manual that I downloaded…

Short answer is no. For outlines, you can import a DXF, but to define all the pad, drill properties etc you need to do that in KiCad.

I know it seems weird and upside down at first, but after a while it will still seem weird and upside down, but you will be used to it!

1 Like

I use Inventor frequently (very heavy modelling in 3DStudio/3DMax 10 years ago, with a short stint in Solid Works) and KiCAD is pretty good compared to other stuff for ECAD that’s available for free.
Sure it’s missing a lot of luxury but has a lot of useful stuff under the hood (*) you wont notice at first and if you’re determined enough you can definitely design more exact than the fab can ever hope of achieving.

Get used to the relative coordinate readout right next to the absolute one. Can be reset at current mouse pointer with [Space].
Unfortunately the relative coords are not being used in any masks/GUIs, but you can use ‘exact input’ for some movements/modificators.