Create symbol/footprint from Eagle files

Hello,

I’m new to KiCad (and to PCB and no really experienced in electronic…). I want to make a PCB that will hold commercial boards from SparkFun or Adafruit. Right now, I’m working on the F9R board. Eagle files are provided. How can I use them to generate a set of symbol/footprint that I can use in KiCad?

Any advice is welcome.

Maybe you can try to import the Eagle projects firstly, and then generate the symbols/footprints from the imported projects.

One of the things you can do is ask sparkfun for a KiCad project.
If you pay USD290 for such a small & simple PCB then you should expect some service with it. At least it would let them know people are increasingly more interested in KiCad then in eagle.

And of course exactly because KiCad is ever becoming more popular, it’s quite possible somebody else has already preceded you and you can get it somewhere from the 'net.

I also had a short peek at it myself. Downloading the project was a few mouse clicks. Then I extracted it, opened Kicad and used File / Import Non-KiCad Project from the project manager, and KiCad just opens the Eagle project and converts it to KiCad. To me it looks a bit ugly, as it re-uses the schematic symbols as defined by the eagle project, but it’s pretty usable.

From the imported project it’s quite straight forward to create a custom footprint in KiCad. Pins are laid out on a 2.54mm grid, so that also makes it easier to align everything.

Most of the work will be in learning how to create footprints in KiCad. The way I would proceed from here is:

1. Create a “project specific” footprint library and add it to the project.
  2. Create a footprint in that library.
  3. Do some measurements on the PCB, and draw pins and outline in your newly created footprint.
  4. Import your newly created footprint in the project and put it on top of the PCB to see if it fits.
  5. Go back to step 3 and re-iterate until the footprint is to your liking.