Copy symbol from schematic editor to library

Hi all,

I am completely new to KiCAD, and I would like to create an own library with the parts I needed most often, limited to certain footprints, and add some new ones.

I used a symbol from a library in the schematic editor, customized it using the symbol editor, and now its fine for me. Now I want to copy this symbol into my library - but I could not find a way to do this, not in the menus, and not in google.

It would be great if you can help me.

Thanks,
Klaus

1 Like

Hi @klausj , and welcome.

You should open the Symbol Editor and then File -> Create new library.
Kicad will ask for a path to save the new library, click Ok and that’s it.
Then you should select the library and add a new symbol, or in your case, you should select your symbol from the library it currently is and copy-paste in the new one, save all changes and that’s all.

More info about the software here.

Edit: It would be better to have your custom libraries in a directory other than the default so they won’t be erased after an update.

Thanks, this was clear to me.

But unfortunately I started differently:

• Edit a schematic
  • Use a symbol from a library
  • Change the symbol directly in the schematic (via Edit with Symbol Editor)

And now I would like to copy this changed symbol to a library.

Is there no way to do this (It would be totally OK to copy some things around via a text editor, if this is not supported in the GUI)? Then I have to redo my changes with your approach.

You can go to Properties, Edit Symbol and then choose Export Symbol. Then you’ll have to import it into your own library.
Not very elegant. Much better to define your own libraries first.

Maybe it’s too obvious and too easy: when you open the symbol from the schematic again to the symbol editor, you can use File → Save As.

2 Likes

No, you can’t. That will only allow you to save to the main library, which is not possible.