Convert freePCB footprints to Kicad footprints

I have a whole bunch of footprints created in freePCB which I have been using for the last ten years or so. Now I am gradually migrating to Kicad I would like to transfer these footprints. Many of them are of unusual components like rotary switches which are a real pain to recreate because of the geometry involved in working out pad positions. So it would be really nice if there was some automated method of making the transfer. Before I go delving deep into the file formats of freePCB and Kicad footprints I thought I would ask here in case someone has done this already.

Cheers

Ian

A simple search for ‘freepcb kicad’ turned up this tool.

LOL. I searched for “convert freePCB footprint to Kicad footprint” and got nothing. Thanks for the link.

Cheers

Ian

I just tried your ‘freeepcb kicad’ search and that turned up nothing as well. Which search engine are you using?

Cheers

Ian

It’s a mystery how you can’t get results. Any search engine will do.
Even with three e the same results show up regardless if hyphened or not.
The suggested link shows up first every time. Just for kicks

We strongly recommend designing complex footprints like rotary switches in FreeCAD and using the StepUp tool. It is so much easier to work in polar geometry on a parametric CAD tool than trying to figure out XY coordinates.

1 Like

Turns out to be because I had the UK switch on. Turning it off included the results you got.

I have now spent some time with the tool but unfortunately it has problems. First it only works in mm and pukes on footprints defined in MIL. Secondly it insists on the source footprint being indented the way the IPC ones are. However, freePCB created footprints do not have this indentation nor is it required. Thirdly it will not accept test in a footprint other than ref and value which freePCB has no problem with.

Too much like hard work to fix. But thanks for the link anyway.

Cheers

Ian

Who is ‘we’?