Convert an old 1:1 film negative to Gerber files

Hi all, absolute newbie first-day guy here, sorry in advance. So, I’ve got a pretty frustrating situation here with a simple little single-sided FR4 PC board that dates from the early 90s, that I need to get some more made of. The company in Boulder CO who made them for me over the…decades, went out of business on me. All I’ve got for the little guy is a ‘filmwork’ 1:1 negative plastic film thing (the traces and pads are transparent, on a black background), and an actual ‘sample’ board…no Gerber files. I’m thinking KiCad can probably help me here, but boy am I clueless. Does anyone here know of a straight-on tutorial for this specific issue? Any thoughts would be really appreciated. C. Hale, Boulder CO

Well, you can either redraw it in KiCAD or some other program, or you can look for a company still running antique PCB processing.
I’m not aware of any “film-to-Gerber” software.

Thanks for your thoughts here. I did find something, maybe, Image to PCB – Create all files to manufacture a PCB from an image (wordpress.com) “Image to PCB”. It sounds like what I want to do, but, I’m frankly not sure. --Charley

It being a “simple little single-sided” board, I would think it is worth considering the option of redrawing it in KiCad, especially if the circuit diagram is already known.
The process would be essentially identical to the reverse-engineering of an existing board, only you scan the films and insert the scanned picture of them into the board editor for reference, instead of a photo of the existing board.

The process has been described fairly recently, even I wrote a quick outline of it recently on this forum.
I have done a couple, and it is not that bad after all. And then you can easily make new revisions too, if you want or need to.

1 Like

Were you able to find a solution to your problem yet?