Component Properties Changed Inadvertently

I am new to KiCad and have been reading and trying a first schematic. I am experienced with schematic and layout tools in general, just not this one.

So I have a small design with around 30 components and a few multi-section devices. One is a 74HC02 from the available library and the others I created. They all use a section just for power pins.

I’m not sure what it is that I do to trigger this, but every once in a while the information in some of the sections will get corrupted with information from another device! It seems the devices I made will take on the properties of the 74HC02. If on the schematic I open the corrupted symbol it will show a lot of data from the 74HC02, but the number of available sections and the current section are always the original value. I have to delete and replace these components to make them right. I’ve done it three times now.

I have only now completed the schematic and have not yet assigned reference designator numbers to anything. The corruption is only between devices with ref des of U?. Could this be the problem, that it is getting confused thinking all U? are sections of the same device type because the U number is “the same”???

At the moment the schematic is correct, but I’m sure there will be more work for me to do. I worried I will keep having this problem and will have to keep correcting the corruption.

Any ideas?

Rick

This under Windows 10 on a Dell Precision M6800 laptop with 32 GB of RAM. The KiCad version info is
Application: KiCad
Version: (5.1.6)-1, release build
Libraries:
wxWidgets 3.0.4
libcurl/7.66.0 OpenSSL/1.1.1d (Schannel) zlib/1.2.11 brotli/1.0.7 libidn2/2.2.0 libpsl/0.21.0 (+libidn2/2.1.1) nghttp2/1.39.2
Platform: Windows 8 (build 9200), 64-bit edition, 64 bit, Little endian, wxMSW
Build Info:
wxWidgets: 3.0.4 (wchar_t,wx containers,compatible with 2.8)
Boost: 1.71.0
OpenCASCADE Community Edition: 6.9.1
Curl: 7.66.0
Compiler: GCC 9.2.0 with C++ ABI 1013