Command error. Return code 11 to generate BOM

Hi,

I’m a newbie here. Right now, I tried to follow all the instructions from the tutorial in pdf file. However, I am facing some problem here to generate the BOM file. Below is the error that I’m facing right now. I tried to follow the suggestion from the other post about this error but still stuck at this problem. I don’t know what else to do.

Run command:
xsltproc -o “C:/Users/Muhamad Affiq Misran/Documents/KiCad/tutoriaal1” “C:/Program Files/KiCad/bin/scripting/plugins/bom2csv.xsl” “C:/Users/Muhamad Affiq Misran/Documents/KiCad/tutoriaal1.xml”

Command error. Return code 11

Error messages:
I/O error : Invalid argument
I/O error : Invalid argument

Thank you and sorry for the inconvenience.

Rgds,
Affiq

first thing to check for is [space] in paths… I see your user name has two of these.
Any chance you can test this with a USB stick (in case all you got is C:) as a base drive for the input and output path, as you need write access?

2 Likes

Hi Joan,

Thank you for your reply. So did you mean I need the bom2csv from the C to be saved in the USB stick and also the project I have done also?

For a test yes.
Have no other idea.
If no one else chimes in with more experience in that area…

Doesn’t windows use backslash “” in the path string instead of forward slash “/”?

I would put money on it being spaces in the paths. Ideally, put everything in places that don’t need spaces.

It’s little known but all paths in windows still have an 8.3 name, but I think the only way to see it is to use a DOS prompt and “dir /X”. The 8.3 name can be substituted for the parts containing spaces.

Another option is to install a different XML processor, e.g. Saxon BOM generation in "new" Kicad (Windows)

Or use a Python tool to generate the BOM KiBoM - Python BOM Generation tool

Or generate bom from pcbnew Fabrication Outputs->BOM File