Change layer transparency (solved)

Hello there,
I am new to Kicad. I am trying to make the layers be 100% opaque. At the moment they are transparent:

How to change this transparency? I would appreciate all help.

There is a button in the left toolbar… 3rd from the bottom, which causes what you see.

Hi,
No that is high contrast mode. I mean to make the layer 100% non transparent. Look at the red layer, you can see the other layer on it, its transparent.

To be more clear- the pad on the screenshot is 0% transparent, how to get that for tracks?

I’m not aware of such an option.

Might i ask for what usecase you need 100% opacity?
(In most cases it is useful to see where the tracks on other layers are.)

1 Like

as @Rene_Poschl says, this is not adjustable by some setting.
The tracks and pads are slightly different, so you can discern them.
Personally I even switch the pads into outline mode during layout, for even less distraction.

I come from Altium Designer and Protel 99 SE long time before. I have used 100% opacity since I remember. Transparent layers just doesnt seem right for me- makes it harder to focus for me. Just thought of it as a standard option.

It does not seem like one of us knows of such a feature. (In high contrast mode it does not seem that distracting to me. I mostly don’t even use the high contrast mode.)

You can always create a wishlist bug over at the bugtracker.
But be aware that feature requests without the support of a developer or a patch ready have a very low chance of being implemented.

How can I make a Developer support me :P?

This seem like something of my concern: https://bugs.launchpad.net/kicad/+bug/991774
Isnt this aplha blending exacly this?

1 Like

I think this is about the legacy canvas. Just try out the legacy/default canvas and you will see how bad it can be.