Can't find switches in the footprint library browser

I need to assign a footprint to a 3PDT switch symbol, but when I look in the footprint library browser I do not see “switches” of any kind. I can’t believe there are not footprints for switches. Where are footprints for switches? Thanks for any advice.

There are some under “Button_Switch_xxxx”

Otherwise you could make a footprint.

Thanks jmk. I looked at “Button_Switch_xxxx” and there doesn’t seem to be any 3 pole double throw switches, so I’ll have to make a footprint. I’m a newbie so could you tell me how I get to the custom footprint window?

First: What version of Kicad are you using? You will find that in Help / About Kicad / Bottom of page.

Next: Have you made personal schematic and footprint libraries yet?
There are comprehensive instructions on how to make both types of libraries in FAQ at the top of this page.

I am using KiCad version 5.1.6-0. I had no idea about personal schematic libraries. I understand why one make a footprint library but I don’t understand what the need for a personal schematic library would be. A library within which I would place my schematics?

Not a library of schematics, but libraries of schematic symbols.
For example, microcontrollers only have the generic I/O names, but often have 2 or more alternate functions for peripherals. I’s common to copy such a generic uC symbol to a personal library, and then add names for peripherals such as I2C, SPI, Timers, etc that you use. Maybe also move the pins around so they fit better on your schematic.

If you have transistors you use often, then it’s easy to combine a generic transistor symbol, add the right footprint for you, and then put it in a personal library under the name of that particular transistor.
Some people use personal libraries for schematic symbols just because they do not like defaults. For example removing the circles from transistors.