Cannot Import dxf file into pcbnew in Kicad

I am a newbie at electronics and Kicad and I am making Snowmen with flashing led’s for Xmas tree ornaments as a xmas project and i have tried to import dxf files from Adobe Illustrator, GIMP and Inkscape. Each time it says there is no graphic. I have imported it as a footprint graphic into pcbnew but cannot make it an edge cut. I have the latest version of Kicad 5.1.10. I have tried an older version of Illustrator 10 and latest versions of GIMP and Inkscape with no joy. just about pulling what little hair i have out. If anyone can assist me i would be extremely grateful.
Cheers
P.S. I have made and had 14 pcb’s produced with Nextpcb and the quality has been great. The first project was a dud, but the rest have been great. Guitar Pedals and Small amps for Buskers generally - no fancy shaped pcb’s.

Autocad have changed the Dxf format many times over the years. Try exporting as v11 as this seems to be the best supported in KiCad.

When you change tools, it takes some time to learn how to work with them, and find a workable path for the “unusal” cases. At the moment import of external graphics is not a strong point of KiCad, but import of .DXF files does work. I’ve done it a few times myself.

Are you sure that Gimp can even export as dxf? It is a pixel program, but I do not know it well enough to know if it has any vector capabilities.

The first export I did of a DXF in inkscape resulted in a 210 bytes file size, so obviously there is not much in it.

With an export in R14 DXF format, there is some help in Inkscape V1.0.2 which suggests it only supports a very limited list of primitives:

The help also makes mention that you apparently have to select what to save / ecport. (in the last line) Asking how the export of dxf works in Inkscape is maybe better asked on an Inkscape forum.