Can you import a schematic from EagleCAD?

Hi,

I see references to importing board layouts and component libraries, but is there a way to just import only the schematic from a project in EagleCAD into eeschema and start from there?

Thanks
Geoff

I found this on Github https://github.com/SupplyFrame/eagle2kicad

Haven’t tried it yet but worth a try

Andy

Thanks Andy

I didn’t find that one. Looks promising by the description though a little concerning with the age of it whether the file formats would be current enough.

I actually recreated the schematic I wanted to do this for over the course of today, but I’ll try this for next time.

Cheers, Geoff

did you find a way to import from eagle to KiCad, I am very familiar with Eagle and have been using to a lot, but I am very new to KiCad, actually I was just downloading it and want to import me eagle files to it (schematics and board layout), especially the schematic though.

Hi,

did you find a way to import from eagle to KiCad

I haven’t, but recreating more of my Eagle projects as schematics in KiCad is helping me get up to speed.

It sounds like we’re in a very similar place. I decided to go cold turkey on Eagle to force me to get to grips with KiCad this year. I was using the hobbiest licence for Eagle so my schematics are all cramped on one sheet anyway.

If you use the later releases of KiCad rather than the stable (caveats apply regarding risk, etc) you’ll gain the benefit of using Eagle footprint libraries you already have without modification. You can just enter the file name & path and change the file type to Eagle in the table for your project. That has been very handy. Not all work but it is a pretty straightforward fix to make a copy and edit them from there.

The later builds of KiCad also open Eagle board files natively, but I’ve yet to try that. And probably won’t.