Can some help, recommendations

I have just had an email form a member recommending me to buy a kit,

1. I am more qualified than most designers, having City and Guild and B.tech qualifications for over 40 years, which is far more than the idiot quoting me, it was only from a road accident that is stopping me what I love doing and have designed more than enough products in the 40 years.
    So can Someone tell me how to sort issues with the program or recommend a version that works.

Sorry what do you mean by buy a kit? Kicad is open source and free to download and use.

There is no way that somebody can know that from a public forum, if somebody is trying to help they have to make some assumptions, nothing to get worked out about.

Now, from this post, I cannot gather what is your problem, maybe do you care to explain?

I don’t understand your statement " or recommend a version that works." I’ve been using KiCAD for over 10 yrs now both in my job & hobby with only the odd problem, but having explained very clearly here what the problem is, the longest time it took to resolve it was 1 hr. & never had to advertise what my qualifications are!

1 Like

If you have experience in circuit design, you will doubtless understand that different programmes have differing approaches to schematic layout, component selection, BOM creation, PCB layout and generation of production files. For you to use KiCad effectively, you would be well advised to get some background information about the workflow. I would suggest that you might like to take a look at the video series available here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BVhWh3AsXQs This might give you a bit of background and is relatively up to date.