Can I copy traces in footprint to pcb?

I’m trying to export my pcb design to a hyperLynx file for doing EM analysis using openEMS.

Apparently, pcbNew does not include traces inside a footprint when it exports to a hyperLynx file. That’s an issue for me, since I want to evaluate different pcb antennas, and the different designs are encapsulated in footprints.

I tried opening one in the foot print editor, selecting everything, then copy/pasting to the pcb being edited in pcbNew. But, pcbNew still thought the shapes were a footprint and didn’t include the traces in the export.

Is there a different workaround I can use (other than drawing everything again in pcbNew) to get the traces in the footprints “flattened” on the pcb so they get exported?

I have no experience with Hyperlinx, but KiCad does not draw traces (a.k.a tracks) in footprints. KiCad does make a significant distinction between copper tracks and graphical items, even if those graphical items are on a copper layer.

You can add graphical items to a pad in the footprint editor. To do that:

1. Open the Footprint Editor, load some footprint
  2. Add a pad and select it.
  3. Depress Ctrl + e to enter “pad edit mode”
  4. Draw some graphics. It should overlap with the pad itself, which becomes the attachment point of the normal copper tracks.
  5. When finished, depress Ctrl + e again to end the Pad Edit mode
  6. Save your artwork and use it on a PCB.

I do not know if such a footprint exports properly to Hyperlinx.

Thanks!

Footprints don’t get included in an HyperLynx export, but the pads do.

I didn’t realize I can have an arbitrary pad shape! I’ll give that a try (after writing scripts to basically merge footprints with imported Hyperlinx in OpenEMS) :smiling_face_with_tear:

The footprint polygon ends up having rounded outside corners. Also, the “net tie” keyword doesn’t keep the layout editor from clearing a zone area from the pad.