Calculate capacitor value

You guys. I have a question.

Please see this schematic.

I want to power solenoids with a 16V pulse using a SPDT MTS - 102. For reasons I dont’t want to get into, that switch has to be a ON-ON type and NOT an (ON) - OFF - (ON) type

I want to use a couple of AO3400 N-channel MOSFETS to power the solenoids. I chose AO3400 because = basic part @ JLCPCB and has decent power rating of 5.7A.

The values of resistor sets R1/R2 and R3/R4 are chosen to prevent the gate voltage from exceeding 12V. (absolute maximum rating). If R4 or R2 receives 16V through the capacitor the gate voltage cannot not exceed 11V.

The MOSFETs start to conduct from around 2V. I want to use the 2 capacitors to set the pulse length. I want the gate voltage to be higher than 2.5V for around 50ms.

Now my question: How do I calculate the capacitor (and resistor) values?
(if it is not painfully obvious by now, I have zero experience with SPICE otherwise I would have tried to simulate).

Pointers (and mostly a formula :stuck_out_tongue: ) would be appreciated.

Kind regards :coffee:

Bas

In order for this to work you will need to have something that discharges the capacitor when the switch is open. For example a (comparatively) high value resistor from the switch end of the capacitors to ground. This will of course cause some current draw from the VCC, so you will have to consider that in your choice of resistor value.

The time constant of a resistor-capacitor circuit is the product of resistance (in ohms) and capacitance (in Farads). So choose a capacitor which gives the time constant at least 50ms plus some margin. If I did a correct quick estimation in the head it would be somewhere around 10uF or a little more.