Building Custom Pads Doc

Hi, KiCAD Newbie Here
I am transferring some footprints into KiCAD format and I was wondering if there is a document that provides some detail, and maybe examples, for the various Pad Shape definitions. Especially the custom definition. I gather that I just build the copper shape from lines and polygons and such with a SMD pad added for contact to the copper shape.

I will dump some footprints to a printer but a document sure would be nice!

Also, where does the “pretty” word come from for footprint libraries? Are there any ugly footprint designs to avoid?

Thanks,
Bob K.

Hahaha, some old timer developer chose that name and it has been carried through the versions. (Speaking for myself I would have chosen .nifty. Maybe I’ll create a Nifty computer language so that the programs are .nifty.) But for your own footprint libraries you can choose any name, even .ugly, the software doesn’t care. Sorry that’s anthroposomething or other. :wink:

PS: thinking about it, it would have to be after Windows acquired LFNs. So not in the DOS version.

anthropopathization. :slightly_smiling_face:

Place a pad in your Symbol editor, Right click and open properties or right click an existing pad in your PCB editor then open properties and explore.
The Line icon will not fill a shape. Use the polygon shape to draw lines, right click on the border and “Fill” to create graphic shapes. Combine a pad and a graphic shape and use “Finish Pad Edit” hotkey E to combine the pad and the Graphic Shape.

Anthropopathy is the shorter alternative. Also avoids having to choose between s (the practice hereabouts) and z.

That reminds me of the remark: lycanthropy is the mistaken belief that one is a wolf but philanthropy is not the mistaken belief that one is Phil. :rofl:

Sorry for the off-topic padding. Back to pads!