Board layout cut outs

I have a requirement of having a square cut out in the middle of my board. I cannot figure out how to accomplish this. I will greatly appreciate any help you can give me on getting this done.

Thanks, Jim

You need to check with your board manufacturer how they want cut outs specified.

However, a common way is to mark the cut out on the Edge Cuts layer.

3 Likes

Like this

1 Like

So it’s as easy as drawing a square on the edge cut layer?

From the pcbnew point of view, it’s that easy, as you say. But as @bobc pointed out, you must ensure the manufacturer will all accept it this way and/or if there are limitations (minimum width, etc.).

1 Like

Most manufacturers would likely appreciate it if at a basic level you put the text “Internal Cut Out” in the middle of that edge cut square, but yeah, send them an email for best results.

1 Like

Thanks much for your help! I am a novice at this and was expecting to see some indication of a cut out in the 3D viewer or the gerber files. I will converse with the board vender to best understand their requirements. Thanks again!

Gerber describes photoplotter output. A cut out is routed out, there are limitations on size and corner radius that are manufacturer dependent. Cut outs are often an extra cost

1 Like

The 3D viewer in pcbnew will show cutouts (with sharp corners).

I must be doing something wrong, I don’t see the cut out in the 3D viewer.

I just checked, my panelizing cutouts still work in the present version.

Make sure the lines intersect exactly at the corners.

It is often easier to use a coarse grid to ensure that your edge cuts precisely intersect. If you check the line properties (press e over the lines) you can make sure that the coordinates are coincident. If they don’t intersect exactly you wil get an error in the 3d viewer.

1 Like