Board-file outside of project folder?

I’ve just switched from 5.1.10 to V5.99. I’m very used to Pcbnew, but a complete newbie in Eeschema and I haven’t used project files much. I have a few questions that may or may not have the same answer. :slight_smile:

1. Do I have to place the board-file in the same directory as the project file? Or is there a way of specifying another location for the board-file? The location of the file doesn’t seem to be written to the project file?

2. Do the board-file has to have the same name as the schematic file and/or the project file?

3. Is it possible to have two schematics tied to a single board file?

I’m used to not tying the schematic so hard to a specific board file. Sometimes the the schematic is updated but not the layout, and vice versa. Therefor I’m not always updating the revision of both of them.

KiCad assumes all your project files are in the same directory. The main schematic sheet filename and the PCB filename also have to be the same as the project filename (except the extensions).

KiCad only supports one schematic and one PCB for each project. A schematic can have multiple hierarchical sheets, but I think that is not what you were thinking about.

I am also wondering what sort of PCB’s you design. Without a netlist you are missing out on a lot of functionality in Pcbnew. And without a schematic you do not have a netlist.

I once made a design for a battery pack for an electric skateboard, without having a schematic (the project was not mine) and it was quite a nuisance. It takes a lot more time and there are a lot more things that can go wrong when you work without a schematic and netlist.

I wonder why you work without a schematic.
People have a few reasons for doing so, but almost always working with a schematic is a better option.