BNC TYCO default pads incorrect?

Hello, this is my first time using pcbnew as part of a mini O-scope project. I was going to include the default BNC connector (BNC_Socket_TYCO-AMP), but I noticed that the top left pad is the same pad number as ‘2’. Shouldn’t that pad be ‘1’? Also, are there other BNC Socket modules out there?

Where is the datasheet you’re basing this footprint on at? I’d like to help, but I’m not finding that footprint in any of the default Kicad libraries.

1 Like

This is under modules/BNC-Sockets_RevA.kicad_pcb.

BNC parts have a very wide price range, normally, you search for the cheapest one that meets your needs, and customize the nearest footprint you can find to that.
eg Digikey suggests Molex have the cheapest BNC 90’ Connectors

Hard to tell just from a footprint, check the data sheet.
That numbering shown, would have pin1 as the BNC centre and pin2 as the outer, with the other two larger holes also outer / GND.

2 Likes

(I haven’t checked the datasheet so this is a SWAG.) The two large pads labeled “2” are probably intended as mechanical mounting pins, rather than electrical connection points (Even though they are electrically connected to the connector housing . . . at least at VHF and below.) The smaller pads are probably intended to be the electrical connections to the connector. Since pad “1” is on the mechanical centerline it seems reasonable that it would be a connection to the center pin of the connector; pad “2” is offset from the centerline so it probably connects to the connector shell in some way.

Dale

2 Likes

I presume that this is the black plastic bodied RA BNC shown on the first page photo of http://www.te.com/commerce/DocumentDelivery/DDEController?Action=showdoc&DocId=Catalog+Section1307191_BNC_Connectors0307pdfEnglishENG_CS_1307191_BNC_Connectors_0307.pdf1274668-1

The body pins are intended to be soldered, but are no connects.
I have used this part before and it is a fairly dire RF connector.

2 Likes