Beginners Query on making new schematic components

I am brand new to this, just working through the 'Getting Started…"tutorial. Running on a MAC under OS 10.10.5
When I try in 6.1 to create a new component, the component label does not appear in the Library Editor window. I have followed the instructions several times and nothing appears in the window. I have zoomed in and out in case it is off screen, but no. What am I doing wrong?

Any help much appreciated.

Jim

Not sure what tutorial you are following. A link might be a good idea.

In the meantime you can take a look at the getting to blinky tutorial. Maybe it is explained better there.
https://contextualelectronics.com/courses/getting-to-blinky/

I believe he is referring to this.

Many thanks for the replies. The link is correct. I thought that it would be clear as this is the tutorial in the ‘documentation’ link on the KiCad home page when i first downloaded it. Sorry if I caused confusion.

I am going to work through it again this morning. I did wonder if this was a ‘known’ MAC OS issue as most references seem to be to Windows or Linux based systems. However I have now printed off the Component Library Editor chapter of the Eeschema handbook and I will try to see if this helps.

Once again, many thanks for your replies.

Jim