Beginner needs Schematic expert review

Hi!

Firslt, I am very new to KiCAD but Being passioanate about circuit design, I am willing to take the dive. This is the schematic of the primary side of a power supply. My instinct says it has so many flaws from design point of view especially it leading to the pcb. I want to get a review on it so I can improve any suggestions are more than welcome and Thanks for taking the time to take a look.

Ahhh. That transformer (L_core_ferrite_coupled) is sideways. If you were to plug this into the wall as is, you would almost certainly injure yourself.

You want the transformer to physically isolate the hot+neutral side from the low voltage side. What you’ve drawn would pass everything through, blowing up your downstream components and possibly electrocuting you if you touch part of the circuit that was supposed to be at a lower voltage.

I’m struggling here because I really don’t want to sound too negative and turn you away from electronics – I definitely think it’s good that you’re curious and I want to encourage you to continue learning and building things. But given the specific risks of making a mistake with mains electricity, I think it would be a good idea to hold off on a mains power supply design like this until you’ve read a little bit more about it and are confident that you understand how to do it safely. Making mistakes is part of learning, and it’s much much better to make mistakes at 5 or 10 volts than at 100 or 200 volts. The high voltage stuff isn’t difficult, but the cost of a mistake can be very high. Make your mistakes at a lower voltage, and then move on to higher voltages once you’ve gotten past the smaller, safer explosions.