Basic design question

Being a total newbie at this but done some reading and watching, I have what must be a very basic query regarding how you design for components that you wish to appear in a schematic but are not part of a pcb footprint.

As an example, I have designed a simple solar charge schematic, inclusive of solar panel. But obviously the resulting pcb will not include a solar panel, but rather a connector for it.

What is standard practice to handle this type of situation?

Cheers
Bobo

I would have a connector at schematic and text (or simple graphic) info what is connected here.
Don’t know if it is a standard.

I remember someone here saying that if you use special reference (I think) for element than it will not be in netlist. But I don’t remember exactly - probably the special first sign.

Ok, that makes perfect sense. Guess I was reading too much into it.

Thanks

In this case I would also symply use a connector.

There is however also a very usable “symbol editor” in KiCad for designing new schematic symbols from scratch, or for modifying existing schematic symbols.

Most KiCad progams have their own user manual, but strangely the manual for the schematic symbol editor seems to be missing from:
http://docs.kicad.org/
Bit weird, but does not matter much because working with it is almost the same as working with schematic symbols themself.

There are also other ways to design schematic symbols.
I once wrote a page of Python to generate custom symbols for a whole library of connectors, and there are also scripts to generate schematic symbolf from spreadsheet data.

Here’s an example of this approach: