Automated bed of nails plugin/ Automate deleting symbols based on designator

I have a few pcbs that have 50+ test points on the bottom of the board, and I would like to make a bed of nails fixture for each board. Ideally, I would only have to:

1. Delete every symbol on the schematic and PCB that is not a test point.
  2. Change the footprint to a pogo pin footprint. (can use the “edit symbol fields” feature to do this in bulk)
  3. Connect all pogo pins to a header

I would like to follow this process since it will have all of the test points in the correct location, since I’m are starting with the board file that has the test points already placed, and their location should be maintained when running this script.

Is it possible to automate step 1? I have some experience using python to directly manipulate Kicad files but little experience writing actual plugins. I was not able to figure out a simple way to automate this with either method. Any recommendations for plugins or ways to parse the kicad files that could help automate this process?

I understand the issue.
What you forgot to mention, is that you very likely start with a copy of the original project to make your test fixture.

I am not aware of an automated step to delete most of the schematic (but leave the test points). You definitely want to preserve those, because if you generate new schematic symbols, the UUID’s which are the normal links between the schematic symbols and PCB are lost.

But is that a big problem?
Do your test points have special properties, apart from their location?

For example, if your test points just have a RefDes of “TP1” through “TP50”, then you can just annotate new schematic symbols in the schematic, and then use: Options: Re-link footprints to schematic symbols based on their reference designators

If this is good enough for you, then it is a quick fix.
If you also want to preserve other information about those test points then this method may not work.