Auto routing, FreeRouting for Newbies

Hello, I am new to both KiCAD and the forum. I am posting this because the most-recent Postings regarding FreeRouting seem to be at least a year old.
I’m running KiCAD 4.0.7 on a Win7 64-bit platform (No “nightly builds” and so forth…just the stable version)

1. As I understand it, KiCAD has no stand-alone autorouter. If you want AutoRouting, you have to employ FreeRouting or another package
  2. PCBNEW toolbar exhibits a two-way-traffic sign icon that is “fast access to the FreeROUTE external advanced router”
  3. The FreeROUTE advanced router doesn’t seem to be installed automatically.
  4. I’ve gone to the web (broadly) and to GitHub, and there’s FreeROUTE software out there to download.
  5. There is also a website (freerouting.org) where it is claimed “The easiest way to install the FreeRouting executable is to install the LayoutEditor package,”; you can download a ‘free’ version of LayoutEditor and various forms of the software for a price.
  6. Apparently, the {freerouting.jar} and {freerouting.exe} files are the minimum requirements to run FreeRouting.
  7. Should I install Freerouting and if so, into what directories should the *.jar and the *.exe files be saved?

If you would like to have autorouting, you can install FreeRouting. The safest way to use it is to Export Specctra files, open these in FreeRouting and then import the resulting session file.

You can install it anywhere you like if are running independently. Otherwise, it will need to be on your path.

If it is on a Path (and where should I be looking within KiCad to set that Path?), will the “two way traffic” symbol for Autorouting and the Import / Export dialog box work seamlessly?

By “your path” I meant the environmental variable %PATH that gets searched for executables.

Have a look through https://freerouting.org/freerouting/using-with-kicad for some good tips on using with KiCad v4.