Asymmetric QFN?

Hi! This is my first post, by way of introduction I’ve been using Eagle for 20 years and since they’re basically obsoleting it I wanted to try something more stable and so far Kicad looks very nice and is making sense for the most part. I am using Kicad 5.99 because I figure if I’m going to use this long term I may as well start by learning on the version I’ll be using for a while.

One thing I am missing is that I have parts which are basically QFN but have different pitches and pad sizes for the top/bottom and left/right sides. The below screenshot shows an infrared photodiode, but I encounter this all the time.

I was hoping to find that the package generator could handle this because I’d love to have a 3D model generated for the part automatically, but the QFN footprint wizard seems to only allow symmetric packages with equal numbers of pads per side, the same size pads everywhere, and the spacings all the same.

Does anyone have any advice for a newbie? I made the footprint manually for the LED part and I think I made the footprint fine, even has a courtyard, but there is just no 3D model and I don’t know of a good way to get one other than making it by hand in SolidWorks and exporting as a STP which seems extremely roundabout.

Thanks for any suggestions!

1 Like

A footprint wizard that senses your brain waves and turns it into a perfect (for you) footprint has not been invented yet.
It could also be a bit dangerous…

I usually start with something that is “close”. I either make a copy of an existing footprint from one of the default libraries, or fiddle a bit with one of the footprint wizards. Once you found something close, it’s loaded in the footprint editor, and I do whatever is needed to make it fit my needs.

A simple piece of pen & paper can help with making some notes or scribbling some numbers down, for example if the datasheet specifies corners of pads, while KiCad wants coordinates for the center of pads.