Aries 48 pin ZIF socket 3d model- Can anyone share?

Hi,
Has anyone made a 3D model of this 48 pin ZIF socket?

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/ic-sockets/7106685P/

Or is there a model that is close to this that I can have a go at modifying. I’m a total beginner when it comes to Kicad 3d models. I’m willing to learn. Never used Wings. Dabbled in Blender and Freecad.
Thanks.

David

Aries ZIF’s are expensive compared to the cheap one’s from Amazon but, I have some older 40pin and 28pin units.

I haden’t bothered to make a Footprint for them (because I prefer the cheap one’s) but, to pass time while drinking Blackcoffee, I made a 40pin Aries. Sure, I could have made it 48 pins but, since my largest is 40pins, you can tweak the attached FreeCAD file or make a new one for 48 pins…

Note:

1. Mine have two sets of Holes on bottom (for two changeable Row Spacing’s) Thus, the Pin hardware can be changed but, I did not add these holes to the model (I’ve done it on several of them to fit in DIP’s).
  2. The important features/details are there but, the things like the Handle are only for graphic appeasement…
  3. There are different ways to make the model - the attached was Quickly done to get me the stuff I need (because I know how to cheat & trick modeling) but, may not be ideal for your needs…

Tweaking Tip: Change the body length, position of bottom standoff feet, mount hole, and the number pins and pockets in the Linear arrays

FreeCAD File: ziff_Aries_40pin.FCStd (665.3 KB)

Step Model: ziff_Aries_40pin.step (519.3 KB)

Kicad Footprint: ziff_Aries_40.kicad_mod (4.8 KB)

2 Likes

Thank you. BlackCoffee :smile:

Hi,