Are power symbols really so inconsistent?

Before I go into the details, I have observed this in KiCAD 7.0.5 on Ubuntu and also for disclosure, I have worked as EE for many years and worked with a variety of EDA tools, including Eagle, Altium, DipTrace etc. but I am relatively new to KiCAD. For a few months I have used it on and off to maintain a few existing projects for the company I joined recently. There always were a number of nagging messages from KiCAD, but nothing that seemed life threatening and I was under time pressure, so I put up with it. The boards came out fine.

Now I am starting a new major project and I have started to set up a clean parts library and generally get my act together with KiCAD. So my tolerance for unresolved errors and warning messages has officially worn out. Of course this is where the trouble starts.

One warning message I am consistently getting when updating the board from the schematic is a complaint for every single power symbol in the design, that it is not being driven by a power output pin. Checking out how power symbols were implemented I discovered that the pins are declared as power input. Never sure how a particular group of implementers thinks about these things I researched the issue and found clear messages that power symbol pins should be declared a power output. So, clearly my predecessor had made a mistake. Easily fixed, I changed the respective power symbol definitions. and updated the entire darn schematic. Updating the PCB from the schematic I found that the nagging messages had indeed disappeared. Great success, one down 36 more to go … no, wait a minute, now none of the pins connected to a power symbol are connected to anything!!!