Ardunio UNO R3 Template - Connecting to 3.3 and 5 volt Pins

I am new to KiCad and I am hoping someone can help with this question.
I am using the Arduino UNO R3 template to place components onto this shield. I have two components on the board, one uses 3.3volts and the other 5volts. When I try to wire or use labels to connect to the points on the Arduino Template, I am not able to do so. To work around this, in PCB new, I disabled the enforcement of design rules when routing and manually route the components to the proper voltage. I should mention I am using version 4 of KiCad.

Is there a way to make the connections to the appropriate voltage pin on the Template in the Schematic layout Editor.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Could you provide more details on what exactly you’re trying to do and achieve?
What is the “Arduino template”? Is it template for the PCB, or a “Framework schematic” with PCB?
Basically what you need is to have a proper, ERC-error-free schematic and a netlist generated upon this schematic. This netlist is then used for the PCB part to determine proper connection between pads (generally each component pin in the schematic is represented by one or more pads in the PCB).
Until you have the netlist connections defined, the PCB will refuse to connect the tracks with DRC enforcement ON.

I’ve got KiCad V5.0.2 with maybe some “Extra’s” and I found the file:

/usr/share/kicad/template/Arduino_Uno_R3/Arduino_Uno.pro

I opened it in KiCad. It has an Eeschema with the connecor layout and a pcb file with the layout of an arduino board.

I’m also a bit confused to the intention of Larry23.
I added 2 resistors to the schematic. One between 5V and GND, and the other between 3V3 and GND:

Assigned footprints for the resistors, annotated & imported & routed them in Pcbnew:

All looks well.

1 Like

Paul