Arc tool not working as expected in KiCad 6

Hi, I’m a newbie to KiCad and am using KiCad 6.0.1

I have an issue using the PCB editor and the arc tool in the edge cuts layer.

When I attempt to draw an arc I click on the start position and as I move the tool it creates a circle, rather than an arc. Clicking on the final position enables me to create an arc, but I can only create an arc in the clockwise direction. Moving in an anti-clockwise direction deletes the arc segment that I am trying to draw.

Looking in the status bar at the bottom as I drag to draw out the arc to set the radius it shows 360 degrees as the arc value and not 0 degrees as one might expect (see screenshot below). Is there a setting to change this behavior? I have looked exhaustively and cannot find one!

Any help is appreciated.

Adjust your expectations?

That KiCad first draws a circle instead of an arc is a useful feature because it can help to align the arc with other stuff and it gives you a visual estimate of it’s radius.

That arcs are only drawn clockwise is indeed a limitation. KiCad’s mechanical CAD capabilities have always been quite limited, but don’t let that influence your opinion of KiCad too much. Almost all development effort in KiCad is going to the electronic related parts of the program, and those are quite good.

When PCB outlines get more complicated, a much better approach is to draw the PCB outline in a mechanical CAD program, export as .DXF (maybe .SVG also works) and then import it in KiCad.

KiCad’s arc tool is adequate to draw PCB outlines with rounded corners, but it is (still) a bit cumbersome to do so, especially if the corners are not 90 degrees, it’s difficult to draw an arc tangential to the lines.