Advise one choosing components

Hi i’m new to Kicad, I like it so far. Only got a question. I want to make a PCB for an arduino project. But i can’t find 2 components.

• List item An Arduino ‘‘2 relay module’’
    and a 16 pin amp circular connector.

could someone give me some advise on how to find them. I looked in the libaries, but not the ones i looking for.

I don’t know KiCad library as I use only my libraries. If there is something not there you can always make symbol and footprint yourself. It is easier than designing PCB.

Welcome to the Forum…

“2 relay module”: you need to make your own Symbol (and Footprint if wanted) for a ‘Module’ but, there are Relay’s in Kicad to start with.

“16 Pin AMP connector” - I was a designer for AMP (now Tyco) and JAE. There are Hundreds of them with commonality and variations but only a handfull in the Kicad Library… You can ‘Hack’ up one or make your own.

For “What’s in Kicad”, learn how to use/search within the Symbol Editor’s main panel - the ‘Trick’ is correct search Words because different things get named differently

For the Connector, do the same thing in the Footprint Editor… and, if a CAD user (of any flavor) you can use my YouTube video as an Overview (and guide to Modeling, and Footprint). First 5 mins is the Modeling, remaining few mins is the Footprint). Symbol making not included…

The ‘Important’ part is the Footprint but you don’t need a 3D Model as they are only for Graphic representation… The Symbol is important for Schematic but, aside from the Pin’s, the rest is symbolic graphics…

many thanks, I’ll look into it.

If you are using any ebay “module” that is an assembly of parts already on a PCB. Since the module is not a “component”, there is no library symbol (schematic) nor footprint (PCB layout).

Modules are NOT designed to be integrated into/onto another PCB.

You will have to design your own circuit using components.

When I do a module, I make two components: The socket and the actual module.