Advice regarding my Thermostat project

Hi,

I could use some advice regarding my project, I’m very new to Electronics and I am currently working on a mains (240v) thermostat to use with Home assistant.

I have created a schematic and a PCB layout, but being relatively new I could use a more experienced community eye, cast over my work. To my inexperienced eye, I believe that the only issue with my pcb layout is that I need to potentially increase the width of the traces on the AC side of the circuit before the AC/DC converter.

any advice and tips would be greatly received.

here is my schematic.

and here is my pcb

Also another possible issue I’ve noticed is that the display will only be slightly above the relay component.

I’ll upload a 3d viewer image when Kicad forums raise my trust level a little to allow more images.

Actually the current on the AC side will be lower due to the step down so you do not need to increase the current carrying capacity by increasing the width.

However as with all projects involving mains there is danger. In your place, I would use a wall wart to supply the power and not have mains at all on the PCB. If you must then pay attention to isolation. I don’t have mains on my PCBs so I will leave it to others more knowledgeable to comment.

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply,

so with my current thermostat, that isn’t a “smart” thermostat, its currently powered from the boiler i.e 240v in a wall back box, and then has dry contacts for the signal to turn on and off the boiler. I wanted to keep this thermostat of the same setup but with all safety measures such as a slow blow fuse with a MOV for the A/C side and thermal fuse for the converter. This can all be isolated safely by the boiler isolation switch.
Of course I completely understand something Ive built myself will not be safe to leave in place should I move out of my property, so I would remove it should this happen.