Added new pin to DB9 / Will not connect

I have added a pin to my DB9 connector to represent the mounting pins. I would like to connect one as earth/chassis ground. I have placed an earth ground and attempted to connect the new pin to it by a wire. I get the square around the en point of the pin meaning “not connected”. Has anyone encountered a similar problem Please advise on a fix.

The most common problem in such cases is the use of a wrong grid. Either when creating the wires or placing the symbol in eeschem. Or when designing the symbol.
Make sure you use a coarse grid in both cases.

I normally use 100mil grid for creating symbols (or at least for placing pins)
And 50mil grid in eeschema.

If this is not the problem we might need at least a screenshot of the problematic area and some information about what kicad version you are using.

1 Like

I will try to adjust the grid. I am extremely new to KiCad. How do I adjust the grid coarseness?

In eeschem and in the symbol editor:
right-click->grid
(you might need to right-click on a grid point.)

Another option:
Menu entry preferences->(schematic/component) editor options
For the eeschema make sure you are on the tap display (The first one)
In the symbol editor this dialog has only one tap.

1 Like

I have attempted your fix and now I am incurring a different issue with the component. I cannot import the component that I modified. I get a visual o f it from the component library but when I import it, the component looks different (not the one I made). I open the library editor. I modify my part and then save it. I close the library editor. In schematic I pull in what appears to be the new part in the quick view window. However, when I place the component the new pin is not present. Please advise.

Did you press the “save component to disk button”?

Also close eeschema and reopen it.
You should get a rescue component dialog.