A pitfall in footprint libraries

I’m not an expert, I use KiCad occasionally as an amateur electronics enthusiast, and I’ve just updated to v5, Windows 10.
I’ve made a new, project-specific footprint and saved it in my Users//Documents/KiCad/Projects/Lib_Schematics.pretty library. All worked fine, I can see the footprint and link it to the component in Assign Footprints, and save the netlist.
The next time I opened Assign Footprints I received an error message:
“Footprint library path does not exist.” I checked. it does exist, and the path is still present in the Footprint Libraries dialogue.
I added the path again, and it started working.
The Solution.
The first time I appended the path I used Windows copy and paste from an explorer browse window (i.e. the full path: c:\users\colin…etc)
The second time I used the KiCad browse box which created the path as: ${KIPRJMOD}/Lib_footprint.pretty . Only the second method survived a computer reboot.

1 Like

Which branch of the v5 series are you running: 5.0.x, or 5.1.0?

This might be a bug. At the least, the documentation should have a warning that fully-qualified paths are not supported - paths must be relative to one of the KiCAD base paths.

Would some regular user please confirm:

• Whether this behavior is reproducible on version 5.1.0?

• Whether this behavior is intentional, an unavoidable artifact of some other feature, or a bug?

Dale

Paths in the library tables can point to any location on the file system as long as they are given in a valid format (the example above does not start at the root of the file tree. It either is missing c:/… or /…, it might be a valid relative path but only if the directory the project is in has a subdirectory User which i doubt to be the case.)

Why do i know this? Well i have 4 different versions of the official libs setup on my pc. None of them are in kicad paths.

Hi Dale, The version is “(5.0.2)-1, release build.”