7406 Library Symbol Missing PWR & GND?

Hi! I’m new to KiCad, so please forgive my question should it prove misguided.

I’m re-creating a late 1970s vintage circuit board, and one of the “symbols” (components) is the 7406 chip.

Well, when placing that from the library, I see it neatly contains parts A thru F as separate elements, which is good. But it’s missing the usual part “G” which should contain PWR & GND, I think.

I do notice, however, that the 74LS06 does indeed have parts A thru G, where G is the PWR & GND piece.

I just wondered if this was intentional with the 7406 in the library, or just an oversight?

Then, do I need to manually create the “G” part with the PWR & GND when using the 7406 vs the 74LS06?

Thanks so much!

Best,
AJ

Hello and welcome @Forgotten_Machines

Are you using the 74xx-IEEE version?
If so, power shows on each of the six inverters.

I couldn’t find any other 7406

Do you have a personal library to place your own symbols?

Yes, using the 74xx-IEEE version.

Sorry, for each inverter, I only see two leads each. Please forgive my ignorance here, I’m having trouble following… Leads 7 and 14 are missing, but all others are there. See my picture at

You say each inverter has power and ground also? Perhaps I am just not understanding the diagram.

Thanks again for your help!

Best,
AJ

“Do you have a personal library to place your own symbols?” I’m muddling through figuring out how to build my own now. But I’ll gladly accept any pointers from the community, thanks!

The power symbols are hidden in the IEEE symbols.

To make visible, choose which of the six inverters you wish to show pins 14 & 7.
Open your Symbol Editor and place the unit from the 7406 you wish to show the power pins in the editor.
You will notice the writing and small circle (top and bottom centres of the outline) in blue.
Right mouse click in or just above/below each blue circle outside the box. This opens the pin properties.