3d viewer does not show any components

Hello,

I’m pretty new to kicad. After drawing the scheme and routing the PCB I want to check if the layout works. But the 3d viewer does not show any components. Neither the standard nor the downloaded step files. I’ve checked the forum and the internet and all the hints did not lead to a solution.

I’m using kicad:
Application: KiCad PCB Editor x86_64 on x86_64

Version: 8.0.3, release build

Libraries:

• wxWidgets 3.2.4*
  • FreeType 2.11.1*
  • HarfBuzz 8.3.0*
  • FontConfig 2.13.1*
  • libcurl/7.81.0 OpenSSL/3.0.2 zlib/1.2.11 brotli/1.0.9 zstd/1.4.8 libidn2/2.3.2 libpsl/0.21.2 (+libidn2/2.3.2) libssh/0.9.6/openssl/zlib nghttp2/1.43.0 librtmp/2.3 OpenLDAP/2.5.17*

Platform: Ubuntu Core 22, 64 bit, Little endian, wxGTK, X11, ubuntu, wayland
OpenGL: AMD, NAVI23 (navi23, LLVM 15.0.7, DRM 3.54, 6.5.0-44-generic), 4.6 (Compatibility Profile) Mesa 23.2.1-1ubuntu3.1~22.04.2

Build Info:

• Date: Jun 28 2024 00:06:25*
  • wxWidgets: 3.2.4 (wchar_t,wx containers) GTK+ 3.24*
  • Boost: 1.74.0*
  • OCC: 7.5.1*
  • Curl: 7.81.0*
  • ngspice: 36*
  • Compiler: GCC 11.2.0 with C++ ABI 1016*

Build settings:

• KICAD_USE_EGL=ON*

I’ve tried to place parts on both sides of the PCB. Could this be part of the problem?

Could anyone give me a hint? Thank you very much in advance.
Jens

Did you draw a closed board outline on the edge cuts layer?
Can you post a screengrab?

Most likely is that there is something wrong with the library or paths setup. The 3D models are in a separate location. For KiCad’s own libraries there is a KICAD8_3DMODEL_DIR which on my Linux system points to: /usr/share/kicad/3dmodels/**