Unknown Schematic Symbols

Newbie here.

Hello, I found a schematic online and want to create a pcb design, however I don´t know what the circled symbols mean or how to find them on Kicad.

Do they have standard footprints? I was thinking about changing the chest1 symbol for a header pin.
Captura de tela 2023-01-04 184216

Could anyone tell me what their names are on Kicad?

Thanks a lot

not a perfect match, but OUTPUT is basically Connector:Conn_Coaxial which is a generic coaxial connector (BNC, RCA/Phono, SMA). No standard footprint, it depends what type of connector you want to use.

CHEST1 looks like Connector:Testpoint although its use in circuit seems more like it should be a connector that goes to a skin contact…

Many symbols in KiCad’s library are generic, i.e. they do not refer to a specific part and therefore do not have a specific footprint. You’ll have to choose which real part you want to use based on your application, and from there select or make an appropriate footprint.

2 Likes

What would this symbol be on Kicad? AudioJack3?

Do the position I put global labels on them matter? Because it has L and R pins. What is the other unlabelled pin on the JP2?

Captura de tela 2023-01-05 131739

Thanks a lot gkeeth, you solved my problem!

AudioJack3, yes.

The eagle symbol you show has (I think) poorly named pins, or at least they are only useful names for unbalanced, stereo audio applications.

• The unlabeled pin is the sleeve connection, which is usually/always grounded in audio applications. KiCad calls this pin S (for sleeve).
  • The pin labeled L is the tip connection, labeled T in the KiCad symbol. T is the left audio channel when you’re using a TRS plug for unbalanced stereo audio.
  • The pin labeled R is the ring connection, also labeled R in KiCad. R is the right audio channel for unbalanced stereo audio.

For reference see Phone connector (audio) - Wikipedia

1 Like

Hi gkeeth,

So I read the article and found this:
Tip: Signal