Review of schematic

Is there anywhere to place a schematic for review and input?

I am a beginner and have a design and am looking for feedback.

Thanks

Adam

Are you asking for a critique of the electronic circuit design, or comments on your drafting style and format for presenting information?

Strictly speaking, this Forum isn’t focused on either of those topics but both of them get addressed from time to time when users post their documentation when asking other questions. Post your EESchema schematic file (and symbol libraries that are not in the standard GITHub list), or plot your design to a *.pdf file, and identify one (or a small handful) of items where you are especially concerned.

Dale

1 Like

Thanks Dale.

I’m looking for a review of the design. This is a PCB design for an automated saw I am building. It is controlled by a Raspberry Pi and I’ve tried to isolate (protect) the Pi as much as possible. I’ve put this together based on what I could find and some help from others at my local maker space.

As a new user I can’t upload a file, but here is a link to the PDF of my schematic.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1619624/saw.pdf

Areas of concern are:

1. The transistor circuit controlling the buzzer
  2. The 4 relay control circuits from the Pi (40 Pin header)
  3. Power control

I’m looking for anyway to improve the design and my knowledge and appreciate any and all comments!

All the best,

Adam

First thoughts:

1. It seems you put component values as component designators! This is the ultimate bad approach.
  2. Use power symbols when drawing power wires. At least GND.
  3. You have Relay_1 LED short by wire.
  4. 330k for Relay_5 LED? This LED has no chance to light up in this case! (Unless your RPi has min. 400V DC output).
2 Likes

A 1A switching regulator, is that enough?
LEDS in series with the optoisolator infrared LED. Remember a Pi has 3.3V "1"s and quite limited I/O drive

2 Likes