Junction size and ESKD-sized schematics

Hi!
I’m new in KiCAD and I use ESKD-styled (this is usually called GOST) components.
This style of components is not only different in image, but also in size (standard pin spacing is 5 mm, resistor is 4x10 mm and so on). Standard KiCAD junction size is a bit small. Is there a way to make junctions bigger? around 1.5 to 2 mm would be ideal.

Ehm… are you talking schematics or footprints?

EEschema currently only knows imperial dimensions, especially the grid.
I don’t think this will change with V5. I hope V6 will do it though.

PCBnew can do either.
If you have ‘special’ packages, that aren’t part of the standard KiCAD libs you have to roll your own - which is not very hard.

So please, explain a bit more, ESKD only get’s me to some kidney stuff on google… ?!

:blush:

1 Like

I think he might be talking about the circle that gets added to junctions in eeschema:

I at least don’t know of a place to set it’s size.

2 Likes

I may be trying too hard to analyze the context . . . . but I believe he is referring to the “dot” which indicates an electrical connection between two wires in a schematic. In EESchema, the standard size is a bit less than 1mm diameter - about 0.9mm (0.035 in) as best my superannuated eyeballs can make out. @Nick_Fedorov would like it to be about twice this size.

As far as I know, there is no way for the user to change this size. I will not speculate about how difficult it would be to make this size a choice under “Schematic Editor Options” but it wouldn’t hurt to register it as a wish-list item on the bug tracker. Especially if the larger size is specified in a recognized national standard, there is justification for supporting it in KiCAD. (I suspect that a choice among two or three options - small dot, medium, or large - would be adequate. Making it a user-specified value opens too many possibilities for problems if an unreasonable value is entered.)

Dale