Shorted pins on PCB? [No] (Edit: Excellent PCBs!)

Hello, I’m building an open source laser scanning device called “Hexastorm”:

I ordered 15 PCBs from JLCPCB and 2 groups (10 boards) all have shorted pins.
I also used the “Lead-Free HASL” option from JLCPCB.

Is this normal from JLCPCB?

EDIT:
I apologize for my deep skepticism with JLCPCB. I spoke with the creator/engineer of the open source project. He told me that those shorted pins are actually part of the PCB design :man_facepalming:.
I checked the “KiCad PCB designs” and these “shorted” pins are indeed actually part of the PCB design. :rofl:

Here is the KiCad PCB design referenced for the above PCB picture:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/17GJoDfp6tsct76WyaoyYiR3PUbkfmiOe/view?usp=sharing

Therefore I would like to say that JLCPCB did a superb task in making these fine adjustments which I falsely assumed was shorts! - (Yes, I’m a complete noob :hear_no_evil:)

I’m actually shocked how JLCPCB can provide such quality PCBs at low prices.
PCB Boards are perfect. Will be ordering from JLCPCB again, they arrived in NYC with no damages or scratches. Was professionally vacuumed sealed into individual groups with desiccants. :wink:

I don’t know if this is normal for JLCPCB, but the fault looks to me like shorting from the HASL process. Grab one of the boards and see if you can clean the shorts out using a bit of solder wick. If so, my guess about the cause is accurate. I’m not sure if this sort of HASL fault is an issue with the process at JLCPCB or if that particular footprint is too small for reliable HASL, and you would have better reliability with ENIG.

I wonder if @atommann can shed any light here.

3 Likes

Were you expecting solder resist between the pads?
I agree with @SembazuruCDE that ENIG is better with very fine pitch parts

2 Likes

That gnd trace running under the ic needs soldermask.