Install Kicad on Raspberry Pï Debian

Hello All, I try to install on my Pi the Kicad pacakge, following web sugestion : sudo apt install kicad this install an old release from 2014 not compatible with actual 4.0.7. Any Tuto / Idea to solve this ? Thanks.

I haven’t checked recently but Debian had the old package as default. You could get the recent version through ‘backports’. I have no knowledge of how the Pi Debian works though.

Thanks for answer, by default the Pi is recommended to be used with Debian, I saw on forums Ubuntu with Mate is available for PI and a release 4.0.7 is on Kicad download. I’ve another SD card then I’ll try with Ubuntu ! Thanks.

1 Like

KiCad will probably run on the Pi, but is likely to be a rather frustrating experience with limited RAM and lack of decent graphics accelerators

If the purpose is to actually do something with it, I wouldn’t even try with older than RPi 3. You might be interested about some experiments people have done with Pi/OpenGL, e.g. http://www.raspberryconnect.com/gamessoftware/item/314-trying_out_opengl_on_raspberry_pi_3.

1 Like

Hi eelik,

I’ll check and thanks for the link.

May I ask why you want to run KiCad on a Raspi?

My own PC is a 10 year old core 2 duo, which I got for free.
It has a passmark cpu index of 1490 and it runs KiCad fine, although a tad slow if projects get bigger.

Recently I’ve been thinking about upgrading my old PC and for around EUR450 I can buy a new Ryzen 2400G with about 6x the performance of my old reliable workhorse.

But recently I stumbled into 2n hand PC’s. There are a bunch of copmpanies that buy big lots of old PC’s and resel them.
For example, This: https://www.nowthatsit.nl/sale/hp-elite-8100-sff-19878.html has a Core I5 650 with a passmark score of 3105, which is more than 2x of my own PC. https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?cpu=Intel+Core+i5-650+%40+3.20GHz&id=767
Those old HP machines have plenty of life left in them.